NOK – Norwegian Krone

The currency of Norway is called the krone. In English, the name means crown. It was introduced in 1875 and replaced the previous currency known as the Norwegian speciedaler. You can easily convert here any currency at Merchant Stronghold.

Overview Norwegian Krone Currency
In 1875, coins were introduced in denominations of 10 and 50 re and 1 and 10 kroner.
They stopped producing gold coins in 1910, and silver was replaced by cupro-nickel in 1920.
The Scandinavian Monetary Union continued until 1914; after its suspension, Sweden, Norway, and
Denmark decided to keep the names of their respective currencies.

Currency Facts

NOK Stats

Name: Norwegian Krone

Symbol: kr

Minor Unit:
1/100 = øre

Top NOK Conversion:

Top NOK Chart:

NOK Profile

Inflation: 3.50%

Freq Used: kr1, kr5, kr10, kr20

Freq Used: kr50, kr100, kr200, kr500, kr1000

Central Bank:
Norges Bank

Users: Norway, Bouvet Island, Svalbard


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.